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Possession Limits  (All amounts are cumulative) 410 ILCS 705/10 FAQs 

Illinois Residents 

Cannabis Flower = 30 gr. 

THC Infused Product = 500 mg. 

Cannabis Concentrate = 5 gr. 

Out of State Residents 

Cannabis Flower = 15 gr. 

THC Infused Product = 250 mg. 

Cannabis Concentrate = 2.5 gr. 

Must be 21 years of age or older to possess 

(unless medical card holder). 

If transported in a vehicle, must be 

reasonably inaccessible and in a sealed, odor-

proof, child resistant container. (May not use 

cannabis in vehicle). 
THC Infused Products = food, beverage, oil, ointment, butter, topical 

ointments and other products not intended to be smoked. 

Cannabis Concentrates = cannabis products extracted thru the use of 

solvents or other methods (examples: BHO, shatter, dab, vape products). 

Can’t use in a public place, in front of anyone 

under 21 years of age.  Retail tobacco stores 

and dispensaries may permit on premises 

consumption (if zoned locally for use). 

Medical Cannabis patients (in state and out of state) may possess up to 

2.5 oz. unless greater amt. specified on their patient card. 

Cannabis Control Act does not change.  If the situation is not allowed 

under the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act or the Compassionate Use of 

Medical Cannabis Act, charge under the Cannabis Control Act.  See other 

side for charging information under the Cannabis Control Act. 

Cannabis may be used in private locations 

not prohibited by the Smoke Free Illinois Act. 

Cannabis Paraphernalia = Now legal 
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Cannabis Control Act   (720 ILCS 550/4) Other Offenses 

Under 10 gr. = Civil Citation (unless new Act applies) Parents/guardians can’t allow persons under 21 to 

possess/use in their residence (except Medical) or use in 

vehicle. Violation = 410 ILCS 705/10-15(d) 

10-30 gr. = Class B Misd. (unless new Act applies) 

30-100 gr. = Class A Misd. 2,000-5,000 = Cl. 2 Felony 

100-500 gr. = Cl. 4 Felony 5,000 + = Cl. 1 Felony DUI Limits = 5 nanograms THC per milliliter of blood, 10               

nanograms THC per milliliter of urine (or other fluid) 500-2,000 gr. = Cl. 3 Felony Take entire amt. as evidence 

Unless directed otherwise by a prosecuting authority, you 

should charge individuals w/ the actual amount of 

cannabis product possessed if in violation of the Cannabis 

Control Act. 

Towed vehicles:  If recreational, leave with vehicle and put 

on Tow Inventory sheet.  Medical = Place into evidence. 

Other Cannabis Control Act Offenses remaining the same: 

Manufacture/Delivery: 720 ILCS 550/5 

Cannabis Trafficking:  720 ILCS 550/5.1 

Manufacturing Equipment:  720 ILCS 550/5.3 

Home Grows: Only allowed for IL residents, 21 years of age 

or older who hold a Medical Cannabis card.  Plants must be 

in a locked, secure area out of public view.  Limited to 5 

plants over 5 inches tall.  Violations charged under the 

Cannabis Control Act (720 ILCS 550/8). 

Notes: 

 


